University Structure Departments Department of Microbiology, Virology and Immunology named after S. I. Gelberg

Currently main field of scientific research developed at the Department is devoted to the study of metabolic changes in cells and tissues of the immune system which occur in animals as the result of the harmful effect of immunotoxicants and use of biocorrectors for the normalization of their physiological state. The Department was involved into International collaboration (with the Glycobiology Institute of Oxford University and with the Bialystok Medical Academy) and took part in several International programs supported by International foundations (e.g., the British Royal Society). Two doctoral theses and fourteen PhD theses were defended during the existence of the Department. Over 500 scientific papers, including 3 monographs have been published by its employees. Several scientific works of students – the participants of the Scientific Society of Students carried out at the Department were awarded by diplomas of the Republican scientific competitions.

Nowadays the staff of the Department includes one professor, five associate professors, four assistants and two technical workers.

The members of the staff of the Department of Microbiology, Virology and Immunology named after S.I. Gelberg were elected to the governing bodies of the Belarusian Society of Microbiologists, Epidemiologists and Parasitologists. Some of our teachers are involved into curatorial work with students, including the International English-speaking students.